Primary Care Networks Primary Care Networks

Since the NHS was created in 1948, the population has grown and people are living longer. Many people are living with long term conditions such as diabetes and heart disease, or suffer with mental health issues and may need to access their local health services more often.

To meet these needs, GP practices have begun working together and with community, mental health, social care, pharmacy, hospital and voluntary services in their local areas in primary care networks.

There are three Primary Care Networks (PCNs) within the NHS Hambleton, Richmondshire and Whitby Clinical Commissioning Group:

  • Hambleton North
  • Hambleton South
  • Richmondshire
  • Whitby

Primary care networks build on the core of current primary care services and enable greater provision of proactive, personalised, coordinated and more integrated health and social care. Clinicians describe this as a change from reactively providing appointments to proactively care for the people and communities they serve. Where emerging primary care networks are in place in parts of the country, there are clear benefits for patients and clinicians.

Below is a breakdown of the GP practices within each PCN:

Hambleton North

PCN size: 44,356
Clinical Director: Dr Mark Duggleby

GP practices:

  • Great Ayton Health Centre
  • Stokesley Health Centre
  • Mayford House Surgery
  • Mowbray House Surgery

Hambleton South

PCN size: 28,423
Clinical Director: Sally Tyrer

GP practices:

  • Glebe House Surgery
  • Lambert Medical Centre
  • Thirsk Health Centre
  • Topcliffe Surgery


PCN size: 43,535
Clinical Director: Dr Richard James

GP practices:

  • Aldbrough St John
  • Catterick Village Medical Centre
  • Central Dales Surgery
  • Harewood Medical Practice
  • Leyburn Medical Practice
  • Quakers Lane Surgery
  • Scorton Medical Centre
  • Friary Surgery

For more information please visit the NHS website or watch a short animation that explains the concept of PCNs.